Got some free time and want to help out your hometown?

The Town of Fort Mill uses non-paid volunteers to serve on eight committees, and you can apply to be one of them.

On Monday night, the council approved new members of three of those committees. (See list below.)

But if you want to be considered for the committees, there is an application on the town website that asks about your experience, how much free time you can spare and the reason for your interest, among other questions. (Click here for application.)

The eight committees are: Strawberry Festival Committee, Parks & Recreation Committee, Hall of Fame Committee, Historic Review Committee, Planning Commission, Board of Zoning Appeals, Building Code Board of Appeals, and Stormwater Advisory Committee.

“We have a hearty number of people who offer to do these all-but-thankless jobs that many people don’t see,” Mayor Guynn Savage said. “They don’t get paid. They do it for the honor and to serve their community.”

Here are the appointments approved Monday for three of the committees:

Historic Review Board: Scott Couchenour, Carmen Banks, Megan Brinton and Samantha Nifong.

Board of Zoning Appeals: Jody Stegall, Carolyn Blair and Becky Campbell.

Planning Commission: Andy Agrawal, Tom Petty and Ben Hudgins

Greg "Ricky Bobby" Rickabaugh has lived in the Fort Mill and York County community since 2006. He has covered the area while a reporter for The Charlotte Observer and a freelance writer for The Fort Mill...

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *