The Fort Mill School District has announced the 2021 Teachers and Support Staff of the Year.

Winners were nominated and voted upon by their peers at each school and facility location. These individuals will continue to play a key communications role throughout the 2021-2022 school year by serving on the district’s Teacher and Classified Liaison Committees.

Teachers of the Year by school:

  • Banks Trail Middle: Gigi Frank, Special Education
  • Catawba Ridge High: Marion Bates, Math
  • Doby’s Bridge Elementary: Brittney Myers, Special Education
  • Fort Mill Elementary: Jennifer Haines, Special Education
  • Fort Mill Middle: Alison Teague, Physical Education
  • Fort Mill High: Barry Ledford, Guidance Counselor
  • Gold Hill Elementary: Brandi Clark, Technology
  • Gold Hill Middle: Lindsey Everhart, 6th Grade Science
  • Kings Town Elementary: Krystal James
  • Nation Ford High: Rick Solt, English
  • Orchard Park Elementary: Amanda Cauthen, Lead Teacher
  • Pleasant Knoll Elementary: Michelle Sutter-Hook, Kindergarten
  • Pleasant Knoll Middle: Heather Pecarro, 6th Grade Science
  • River Trail Elementary: Jennifer Brailsford, Literacy Specialist
  • Riverview Elementary: James Whitlock, 3rd Grade
  • Springfield Elementary: Michael Pearson, Technology
  • Springfield Middle: Laura Merk, 6th Grade Math
  • Sugar Creek Elementary: Melissa Rickmon, Media Specialist
  • Tega Cay Elementary: Jill Fuller, Music

Support Staff of the Year by school:

  • Banks Trail Middle: Melissa McGady, Instructional Assistant
  • Catawba Ridge High: Donna Jackley, Administrative Assistant
  • Doby’s Bridge Elementary: Brenda Wilges, Technology Assistant
  • Fort Mill Elementary: Sherri Owens, Technology Assistant
  • Fort Mill Middle: Heather Brandenburg, School Nurse
  • Fort Mill High: Randy Dennison, Head Custodian
  • Gold Hill Elementary: Laura Stainback, Kindergarten Assistant
  • Gold Hill Middle: Phillip Thompson, AM Day Porter
  • Kings Town Elementary: Becky McAteer-Morris, Receptionist
  • Nation Ford High: Lori Stout, School Nurse
  • Orchard Park Elementary: Dawn Wright, Instructional Assistant
  • Pleasant Knoll Elementary: Grenda Dountz, School Nurse
  • Pleasant Knoll Middle: DeAnn Technology Assistant
  • River Trail Elementary: Jennifer Sova, School Nurse
  • Riverview Elementary: Suzanne McLelland, School Nurse
  • Springfield Elementary: Jennifer Miller, School Nurse
  • Springfield Middle: Kelly Cutrone, Technology Assistant
  • Sugar Creek Elementary: Karen Bodel, Receptionist
  • Tega Cay Elementary: Hope Trigg, Receptionist
  • District Office: Tamara Osborne, COVID Response Coordinator
  • Maintenance: Ardie Johnson, Maintenance Technician
  • Transportation: Amanda Carter, Receptionist

The next step in the district’s Teacher of the Year process is to select 5 honor roll finalists, who will be named in the spring. The district’s 2021 Teacher and Support Staff of the Year winners will be announced in September 2021.

Greg Rickabaugh

Greg "Ricky Bobby" Rickabaugh has lived in the Fort Mill and York County community since 2006. He has covered the area while a reporter for The Charlotte Observer and a freelance writer for The Fort Mill...