Honor Roll Teachers

The Fort Mill School District will announce its selection for teacher of the year and support staff of the year on Tuesday, according to a press release.

Here is the district’s press release:

The Fort Mill School District will host a ceremony to recognize its 2020 Teachers and Support Staff of the Year on Tuesday, September 22 at 5 p.m. in the Training and Development Center at the District Office, 2233 Deerfield Drive, Fort Mill S.C. 29715.

The 2020 Teacher of the Year and Support Staff of the Year will be announced during the event.

Five teachers have since been recognized as Honor Roll Teachers of the Year and are now in the running for the district’s 2020 Teacher of the Year. The Honor Roll Teachers include: Jennifer Bailey (Pleasant Knoll Elementary), Angela Harms (Gold Hill Middle), Nicole LaFave (Catawba Ridge High School), Robbie Sluder (Pleasant Knoll Middle) and Julie Wells (Tega Cay Elementary).

As part of the ceremony, the district also will recognize the 2020 winners from our schools and facilities, who were announced in February 2020. The Teacher of the Year and Support Staff winners from the schools and district offices will be commended for their dedication and service to the schools, students and district. Winners from each school and department were nominated and voted upon by their peers at each school and facility location.

Due to social distancing restrictions, this event is closed to the public. Members of the media are welcome and encouraged to attend.

Last year, Pleasant Knolls Middle School Band Director Brandon Sanders was named the 2019–2020 District Teacher of the Year. Sugar Creek Technology Assistant Kim Deaton was selected as the 2019–2020 District Support Staff Employee of the Year.