(Contributed photo)

Fort Mill’s newest sports league, AirRaid Flag Football, just completed its inaugural season.

Here’s a recap provided to The Fort Mill Sun:

   A doubleheader was held under the lights at the Pit at Catawba Ridge High School on Monday, Oct. 28. 

   In the first semifinal of the night, LSU defeated UNC 34-18.  LSU started off fast and never looked back as Max Owino took the opening play 45 yards for a touchdown.  Owino (AirRaid’s leading rusher for the season) would finish the game with 104 yards rushing and 2 TDs.  Owen Sibley led the LSU air attack with 73 yards passing and a touchdown while also catching a touchdown pass.  Carter Sibley’s touchdown catch rounded out the LSU scoring.  The LSU defense was anchored by Ian Burke who pulled down 3 interceptions.  UNC was led by QB Will Gambrill who threw for 112 yards and 3 TD’s.  Jayden Green hauled in 3 passes for 38 yards and a TD while Carter Williams and Maddox Baucom each caught touchdown passes. (Story continues below)

   On the other side of the field, WSU was taking care of Florida 40-21 in a game that was much closer than score would suggest.  WSU opened up a 22-12 halftime lead but Florida fought back and cut the lead to 28-21 late in the second half.  After a valiant effort by the Gators fell short, WSU closed the game out with a couple of late touchdowns.  WSU’s league leading offense was triggered by QB Marek Hart who threw for 210 yards and 4 TD’s.  Brayden Perkins was Hart’s favorite target hauling in 7 catches for 121 yards and 2 TD’s.  For Florida, Noah Dreher led the team with 79 yards receiving and a TD.  AirRaid total yards leader Griffin McNaughton finished with 55 total yards and a TD while Bray Vining threw for 157 yards and 2 TD’s for the Gators. (Story continues below.)

   The Championship game saw the top seed LSU Tigers taking on the #2 seed WSU Cougars.  WSU took an early 6-0 lead on a terrific 14 yard pass and catch from Marek Hart to Aiden Dunnett.  After the two teams traded punts, Colten Flowers caught a 17 yard TD from Ian Burke and followed it up with a catch on the conversion to put the Tigers up 7-6.  It was all the Tigers would need as the stingy Tiger defense stiffened and held WSU scoreless the rest of the way.  Max Owino was all over the field hauling in 3 interceptions while Ian Burke and Carter Sibley grabbed 4 and 3 tackles respectively.  After WSU scored on their first drive, LSU ran off 37 straight to take the inaugural AirRaid Title 37-6.  LSU’s balanced offensive attack was powered by Ian Burke at QB.  Burke threw for 134 yards and 3 TD’s.  Cody Whitmore led the Tiger receivers with 60 yards and a touchdown and Owen Sibley added a touchdown catch.  Max Owino led all rushers with 81 yards and a touchdown on the ground.

  AirRaid Flag Football would like to thank all the families that helped make this 1st season a huge success and we are looking forward to doing it again next fall.  If anyone is interested in learning more about the league you can contact Steve Sibley at [email protected].

Team picture of LSU, who won the season. (Contributed photo)

League Leaders:

Rushing – Max Owino (LSU) – 505 yards, 6 TDs

Receiving – Brayden Perkins (WSU) – 569 yards

All Purpose – Griffin McNaughton (FL) – 1014 yards, 18 TD’s

Passing – Marek Hart (WSU) – 1625 yards, 33 TD

Passing Efficiency – Ian Burke (LSU) – 63% completion percentage, 15 TD’s, 2 INT

Tackles – Griffin McNaughton (FL) – 44

Interceptions – Bray Vining (FL) – 11

To have your Fort Mill news featured on this page, email your information and any photos to: [email protected]