From the left, Kristy Spears, Dr. Scott Frattaroli and Anthony Boddie.

Voters returned Kristy Spears and Dr. Scott Frattaroli to the Fort Mill School Board and picked newcomer Anthony Boddie to fill a third seat, according to unofficial election results.

Spears, who is currently chairwoman, had argued that she has the needed experience to lead the school district through several upcoming challenges. Those include resolving the current impact fee lawsuit, planning for the future of the Virtual Academy after this school year and planning construction on additional schools.

Reached by cell phone Tuesday night as she picked up campaign signs, Spears said she was excited about being re-elected for a second term. She said she thinks voters were happy with the job she and Dr. Frattaroli have been doing, adding that Boddie will make a great addition to the board.

“He (Boddie) is someone who has been involved in the community and someone who will be a natural to fit right in with the rest of us,” Spears said.

Dr. Frattaroli promoted his work as a team player with other board members, district and school administration, staff, students, and the broader community. He pledged a second term would continue his work as an active and engaged listener who works collaboratively with others in the best interest of students and staff. Dr. Frattaroli worked in the Fort Mill School District for 18 years. He taught second grade at Fort Mill Primary School and went on to become principals at three different elementary schools.

Boddie may have had the best ground game among newcomers, with large campaign signs dominating the Fort Mill landscape. He is well-known in the area for his charity work. Boddie, a Senior Account Executive for RICOH-USA, pledged to join other school trustees in managing growth, serving the underserved, school safety, teacher onboarding and retention.

Tom Audette decided not to run for re-election and was campaigning for a seat on the York County Council. The school board had seven candidates for three seats.

The rest of the field of candidates included Hazel Frick, a veteran teacher who taught in the district for 36 years; Desareta Jones, a local mom and business owner who called herself a fierce advocate for children; Dr. Nichelle Newton, an experienced teacher, school counselor and mother; and Takesha Pollock, a vice president and compliance manager for a financial services firm who sought to be an advocate for parents.

The three winners join four other trustees on the board, whose terms continue through 2022. They are Wayne Bouldin, Michele Branning, Celia McCarter and Brian Murphy.

The current school board: (Top row, from left) Dr. Scott Frattaroli, Wayne Bouldin, Tom Audette, Brian Murphy (bottom row) Celia McCarter and Michele Branning.
(Credit: FMSD photo)

Greg "Ricky Bobby" Rickabaugh has lived in the Fort Mill and York County community since 2006. He has covered the area while a reporter for The Charlotte Observer and a freelance writer for The Fort Mill...