Pictured left to right: Celestine Peters, Amber Rice, Brandon Sanders, Melissa Burroughs, and Gina Perry.

During the 2019 Teacher of the Year Banquet held April 11, the district announced the five District Honor Roll Teachers of the Year, making them finalists for the top award.

Here they are:

Melissa Burroughs, Music, Doby’s Bridge Elementary: Ms. Burroughs is a graduate of Winthrop University and has certifications from Villanova and George Mason University. She is a National Board Certified teacher and has worked with the district for three years. She has served as an adjunct professor at Winthrop University and continues to work as an instructor at Winthrop’s ST-arts summer program.

Gina Perry, Math Teacher, Nation Ford High: Ms. Perry is a graduate of Winthrop University and Erskine College. She has worked with the district for 14 years. She is National Board Certified, an FMSD STEAM teacher leader, and a Lemelson –MIT Excite Award teacher.

Celestine Peters, Guidance Counselor, Fort Mill High: Ms. Peters is a graduate of Winthrop University and the University of South Carolina. She has worked with the Fort Mill School District for seven years and also serves as a member of the Army National Guard. She has been recognized with a South Carolina HEART award and has been awarded multiple grants.

Amber Rice, Math Specialist, Gold Hill Elementary: Ms. Rice is a graduate of the State University of New York and Pfeiffer University. She has taught in the district for five years and has previously been recognized as part of USA Today’s All Star Teacher Team.

Brandon Sanders, Band Director, Pleasant Knoll Middle: Mr. Sanders is a graduate of Winthrop University and Kent State University. He has worked in the district for four years. Mr. Sanders has previously been named an Outstanding Young Music Educator, and has been nominated for teacher of the year multiple times both in the Fort Mill School District and other districts in which he taught.

“Each of our 2019 Teachers of the Year are remarkable educators and the selection process for the Honor Roll Teachers was very difficult,” said Superintendent Chuck Epps. “Our Honor Roll teachers truly represent the district’s dedication to students, education, and our mission of Children First…Every Day.”

These five Honor Roll Teachers will now be in consideration for the 2019 District Teacher of the Year which will be selected at the start of the 2019–2020 school year.